no movement in newark

Posted on March 14, 2007. Filed under: Google, Linden Labs, Newark Airport, Second Life, SXSW |

pictureStuck in newark, nj. I’ve been thinking of nothing else but virtual words, video blogging, personalization… I met alot of great people with alot of great ideas. Not too many seemed to talk among themselves though. Noone at Linden Labs or Google have talked apparently. I told them both that Google needs to prepare to make searchable not only links to Second Life but to other virtual or synthetic worlds. They should allow you to upload Second Life URLs in reference to companies. I can see the Google search bar now SEARCH: Web | Images | Video | News | SWURL
Get it? SWURL: Synthetic World Universal Resource Locator. It’s 8:07 pm in Newark. I came up with it first!
I also started a new company. SyntheStaff – Virtual Staffing For Your Virtual Strategy. Like a cross between a call center and store clerk for Second Life. What do you think?
Well this is my first WordPress blog, since I never have time to visit my blog on MySpace. I’m a little burned out. I’m just coming back from SXSW and I arrived on Friday. I’ve been to at least half of the parties there, and if you think that’s not much, I’ve had about 8 hours sleep in 5 days!
My last night was fun. I got to see at least one movie though I wanted to see more. I caught the screening of Knocked Up. I haven’t laughed so hard at a movie in a really long time. Great cast, great dialogue, fun story. I highly recommend it as not just a date movie but as a bring-your-better-half-along-on-a-double-date-with-your-college-buddy-and-his-date movie. My coworker Amy and I went to the after party with some of the cast (Paul Rudd, et al and director). We met up with Cory and Marc, two other directors with great projects (Marc’s The Toll is amazing, I hope it wins!). I met up with the guys from Doctor Doctor and their friends Kelly, Tawnie and their indian friend whose name I can’t spell. We were met by one of the stars of Confessions of a Superhero, Superman himself! The Hulk couldn’t make it. I missed it but apparently some members of Creem checked into out hotel that night. AMy saw them but didn’t know who they were.
Other great parties were the Suicide Girls and Robert Rodriguez ones. Bobby can jam!!!
I also caught What Made Milwaukee Famous at the Knocked Up party. I grabbed their CD, they are amazing!
Did I mention I’m burned out? Here’s a picture to prove it.

See ya,
Michael Durwin

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

