Successful Update of my iPhone Firmware and Playing Super Monkey Ball

Posted on July 11, 2008. Filed under: blog, Boston, Michael Durwin, Social Network, Web 2.0 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , |

I could go back months, where the history of the update began. That would be the announcement of Apps and games. But let’s just stick to the technical stuff shall we?

The story of the successful update of my Gen 1 iPhone began Thursday afternoon around 2pm. I was on Twitter as usual and someone (I believe Kevin Rose, but I could be wrong, my bad) mentioned that Apps were available on iTunes. I did a bit of digging and this was confirmed on MacRumors.com. By searching for a specific App (I used MacRumors suggestion of searching for AIM Application) I was able to access a sub menu and back out to the main Apps directory. I spent gleeful minutes perusing the selection; from the much-anticipated Super Monkey Ball (simply called Monkey Ballz around the office) to the eReader and iPhone Lightsaber. Many ranged in price from $.99 to $39.99 and many more were free. So, I thought, what happens when I try to download one?

iTunes would not allow a download without first updating the software to iTunes 7.7. I tried to update the software through it’s own software update menu to no avail. A little bit of research led me to a link for the download of iTunes 7.7. Once that had been downloaded to my office iMac, unpacked and installed, I was able to doenload any number of free Apps.

Unfortunately my iPhone is synched to my home machine (an ancient, 3-year old G5 dual). The first thing I did when I got home (actually second after I took the pooch out to piddle and poop) was to download iTunes 7.7. I followed the same procedure as in the office and downloaded all of the free Apps that piqued my interest. I also purchased (aaaaaaahhhhhhhh) Super Monkey Ball. I did encounter a few problems here. I couldn’t use my iTunes gift certificate so I opted for a credit card. After several trials and failures I found that it wouldn’t recognize my zip code as being in Brighton, MA where I live but worked fine for Boston. While technically Brighton, Brookline, and Allston (all within a 3 block radius of each other: yuppies, rockers and richies) are all part of greater Boston and my mail to my zip code using Boston still gets through, it is not the address my credit card company has on file. I anticipated this to throw another glitch, butto my releif it did not.

This takes us to about 8pm last night. I wrapped it up and joined my wife to watch So You Think You Can Dance (Joshua blew me away again).

(you can follow this next part as it happened on my Twitter, starting here)

First thing this morning, for me about 7:53 am, I blindly stumbled into my office and plugged in my iPhone. From then to about 10 after 8 I tried to upgrade the firmware, to no avail. Acting on a hunch, and the fact that MacRumors claimed the software was in fact live, I unplugged my soon-to-be happy device, closed iTunes and downloaded v7.7 AGAIN.

This time it took. With 7.7 installed it automatically found the new firmware update and proceeded to update my iPhone. 1 hour later to the minute it was done. At 8:12am I started the update, ran to the shower, got my lunch together, got dressed (for those visualizing, I actually dressed before getting my lunch together. I’m sure me nude fighting with Tupperware is not that attractive to many), and came back. To sit. And wait. For an hour.

I will admit that I have quite a few movies and songs on my iPhone. I’m a motion graphics artist among other things so I keep most of my better work on my phone, making it a handy, mobile portfolio. 23 movies and 390 songs later. 15 free and 1 paid App later. 121 images later. My iPhone update was complete. “Mark the time nurse, 09:12 am.”

While I was a little late for work (which I’m sure I’ll be staying to make up), the process was only mildly frustrating. I think back to getting the iPhone. I left work at noon, arrived at the mall at 1 and 5 hours and 15 minute later I had my iPhone. 10 minutes later, back home, I spent about 10 minutes setting it up for use and was out the door. While this process took less time, but more than it should, I feel bad for those waiting in line for hours with crashed systems and being told to go home. Where, by the way, new members of the iPhone Army STILL can’t set up their phones. Even some with Gen 1 iPhones have bricked Gen 1 phones and non-functioning new phones!

One of my designers took time off this morning to get his very first cell phone, an iPhone. We expected him back by noon. We’ve had some good laughs at the idea of Steve, in line for hours, being told that the system is down. Worse yet, finding that the store is sold out, as I heard from Twitter buddy Matt in San Francisco. It’s 2:54 here in Boston and Steve is not back. We’ve been discussing the possibilities:

A) He’s 5 people from the store, swearing non-stop, waiting for the machines to come back online

B) He was sent home to finish activation where he is
1) Swearing non-stop because he had to go home and is on his way into work anticipating the crap we’re going to give him.
2) Swearing non-stop because iTunes STILL won’t activate his new iPhone

C) Swearing non-stop because he’s been arrested for assaulting an Apple Store employee upon finding out that
1) The iPhone is sold out
2) iTunes won’t allow activation and he’s holding a $300 non-functioning piece of metal, plastic, and glass.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Successful Update of my iPhone Firmware and Playing Super Monkey Ball”

RSS Feed for qtip Comments RSS Feed

[…] – bookmarked by 1 members originally found by xsolidus23x on 2008-12-12 Successful Update of my iPhone Firmware and Playing Super Monkey… https://mdurwin.wordpress.com/?p=72 – bookmarked by 5 members originally found by uns1 on […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

